About Us

Founded in 2015, the Hillingdon Literary Festival was organised by the Brunel Centre for Contemporary Writing, in collaboration with Brunel University London, with a mission to celebrate the contemporary literary environment, of both successful and emerging talent. We seek to promote the literary aspirations of our local community, and to champion the various diverse voices of the London Borough of Hillingdon.

We are committed to ensuring that all our contributing artists are properly supported, in line with the Society of Authors recommended fee. We are also equally committed to widening access to the arts and offering free events, of high calibre, to our community. To achieve this, we have been enormously fortunate to receive support from Brunel University London, Arts Council England, Heathrow, the London Borough of Hillingdon Council and their Culture Bite festival, as well as Waterstones.

In addition to this support, the strength of the Creative Writing and English departments at Brunel University London gave us an enormous platform from which to build our  festival.

In just the first four festivals we have welcomed the following fantastic authors to our theatre venue :

Matthew de Abaitua   |  Sulaiman Addonia   |  Simon Armitage  |  Rachael Ball  |  Ros Barber  |  Laura Barnett  |  Cyrus Bozorgmehr  |  Valerie Brandes  |  Fergus Byrne  |  Amit Chaudhuri  |  Jonathan Coe  |  Andy Conway  |  Rhiannon L. Cosslett   | Helen Cullen |   Lewis Dartnell  |  Caroline Edwards  |  Suzi Feay  |  Emma Filtness  |  Justin Fisher  |  Emma Flint | Dimitrios Giannoupoulos  |  Thomas Glave  |  Vesna Goldsworthy  |  Victor Gregg  |  Xialou Guo  |  Tessa Hadley  |  Matt Haig  | Tom Hartwell  |  Emma Henderson  | Wayne Holloway-Smith  |  Antonia Honeywell  |  Rachel Hore  |  Barbara Lorna Hudson  |  Greg Jenner  |   Akram Khan  |  Shappi Khorsandi  |  Elizabeth Kostova  |   Max Kinnings  |  Jay Kleinberg  |  John Lahr  |  Bill Leahy  |  F.D. Lee  |  Frazer Lee  |  Sam Leith  |  Ken Livingstone  |  Sharon Lockyer  | Rachel Long |   Nick Makoha  |  Bernice L. McFadden  |  Deborah Moggach  |  Ann Morgan  |  Kate Mosse  |  Daljit Nagra  |  Courttia Newland  |  Dany Nobus  |  Irenosen Okojie  |  Julian Petley  |  Mario Petrucci  |  Olumide Popoola  |  Natasha Pulley  |  Geoffrey Robertson QC  |  Liesel Schwarz  |  Will Self  |  Samantha Shannon  |  Iain Sinclair   | Nicola Streeten  |  Rick Stroud  |  John Sutherland  |  Matt Thorne  |  Alexander Waugh  |  Amanda White  |  Julie Wilkinson  |  Naomi Wood  |  Aexandra Xanthaki  |  Benjamin Zephaniah

We have also published three creative writing anthologies featuring the dazzling talent of our local community. We look forward to championing  many more brilliant voices in future years.